David Lyon wins Bayelsa APC governorship primary

Mr. David Lyon has emerged the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the Bayelsa State governorship election.

Lyon polled 42,138 votes to defeat five other aspirants in the primary election of the party conducted on Wednesday by the APC Bayelsa State Governorship Primary Election Committee chaired by the Yobe State Governor, Mai-Mala Buni.

Lyon is believed to be the preferred choice of the Minister of State for Petroleum and former Governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva.

The collation officer for the poll, Senator Emmanuel Dangana, who declared the results in Yenagoa, said Diseye Poweigha came second with 1,533 votes while Maureen Etebu got 964 votes.

Also, Ebitimi Amgbare polled 633 votes and the immediate past Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Heineken Lokpobiri, scored 571 votes while Preye Aganaba got 354 votes.

Dangana, who was flanked by other officials of the team,  said the APC used the direct primary method to conduct the exercise across the state.

He also described the poll as peaceful, free and fair.


Leave a Comment